Must be doing something wrong. Any help appreciated

tcarlisle

I am a newbie to the saltwater world. Tank has been running for 4 months. 120 gallon with 40 gallon sump. Radion Gen 3 lights on "High growth" templet at 80%. I have taken my water to 2 different LFS and they both say my water is excellent.

No nitrates or ammonia. Salinity 1.025. Temp 82, Calcium 450. Alkalinity and anything else the stores check for is good. Both stores, trustable according to longstanding reputations, say my water is great.

My corals do not grow at all. Any hard corals seem shrivel and turn pasty white. Frog spawn sucks in and never comes out fully. Zoe's stay closed up. Leathers don't show polyps and sometimes wither. Xania shrivels up.

I have acclimated everything to the lights and slowly took the percentage up from 35 to 80 over a months time. Really confused about what might be happening.

Fish in the tank: four tangs, clownfish, melanarous wrasse, cleaner wrasse, fire fish, green chromis. They all get along and I never see any fish bothering corals.

Any tips are welcome. New here and may be doing something wrong that i don't know about.

snakeblitz33

What top off water are you using?

Do you have lids?

Ever treated the tank with copper?

Are you using any brass fittings?

Is anything rusting in the tank?

What is your phosphate level?

Do you smoke or use incense in the house?

Do you use or spray window cleaner on the tank?

Is the tank grounded from electricity/ current in the tank?

Are you using a GFCI?

If you are using an RO/DI unit, have you changed the filters? What is your TDS reading?

That's all I can think of for now.

tcarlisle

What top off water are you using? I use RO/DI water from the LFS.

Do you have lids? No lids. A canopy though. The top is open with lights suspended above the tank. I have lids and can put them on if you recommend it. I never put them on to help keep the tank from heating.