Fish breathing not moving

Garyant

No visible sign of bacterial, fungal or parasitic infection.

I apologize for joining the forum simply to seek help. I have 20 years experience with Marine aquariums. We moved cross country June 5th. We brought our 40 gallon aquarium with us (donated all our healthy fish back to the fish only pet store we bought them from)

We set up our 40 and we bought a 110 reef ready. We bought live sand and live rock to set both up. We never had any intention of making the 110 reef. We choose to do fish only. We bought for larger environment and better filtration for our fish.

We are old school. I know, I know you don't need fish to cycle but we put 2 damsels in the 40 and 6 in the 110. They all made it through the cycle. The 40 is fine.

For the 110, the fish store were we bought it insisted we put in a cleaner crew as well. We added 4 small hermit crabs and 4 turbo snails. 2 weeks later a flame angel, 2 weeks later a yellow tang. We test ourselves as well as bring water to pet store.

About a week and a half ago the damsels began dying off, then the tang died (nothing visible on the bodies) All tests were good but we did a 25% water change. 2 damsels and the flame angel survived.

Now this morning our flame angel is lying on his/her side exhibiting the same symptoms. Breathing normally but otherwise appears "paralyzed" not moving at all. Incidentally, the "cleaning crew" is thriving.

Tests as of this morning - Ammonia - 0ppm - pale yellow, Nitrite - 0ppm - light blue, Nitrate - 0ppm - yellow, PH - 8.0 to 8.2
Salinity - 1.022 (I heard for the first time ever that the salinity should actually be above 1.023. Is that accurate? I've always thought slightly below was less stressful for the fish)

What could be killing the fish with no visible signs but the snails and hermit crabs are fine?

Thank you in advance!

beth

Administrator
Staff member