Hobby or money pit?

snakeblitz33

Are all hobbies money pits?

I'm just getting started back fixing up my tank, considering dropping $500 on new lights, $250 on new powerheads and a frag pack of easy SPS corals for another $200, not to mention all of the salt for the water changes, all of the chemicals we use, all the expensive fish and coral foods, filters and chemicals we use to maintain our tanks... The more I think about it, the more depressed I get. Yes, salt tanks are pretty. I am addicted to keeping them. I get depressed when I don't have one, imagine that.

More than likely I will be moving into a smaller place very soon and I'm thinking about downsizing or selling out... yet again. I start a tank, keep it for six months and get out. Ive moved locations five times in six years. The new place is 902 square feet, three bed two bath and I simply don't have the room for this 75g in it.

Anyone else have these problems? If so, how have you dealt with it?

lmforbis

That's what had always kept me from getting a bigger tank than a 55. My house is small and the living room is long and narrow with only one wall that a tank can go on. Last month I decided I'd sacrifice the space to have the bigger tank. Glad I did.

flower

I would wait until the move at least...THEN you can see the space you have and decide on what size tank. I have moved often over the years...moving a fish tank is lots of extra work, and I always built my home around the tank. I would do without a sofa rather then to let my tank go, I have actually done that by the way. It makes no sense to drop that much money on a tank that you may, or may not keep after the move.

john suh