New 75g Reef Tank

silverado61

You are going to dip your coral in insect killer? Could you explain the reason to me? I'm new to the coral part. It seems if it kills bugs it would kill coral. Obviously it doesn't or I imagin you wouldn't use it.
Before you run out and buy it and start dipping all your corals in it, it's not used anywhere near full strength. There's a formula for deluting it to make it safe for corals. Research it.

snakeblitz33

Well, today went pretty good. I kind of got to relax a little, which is always great. I have been doing a bunch of reading on lighting systems lately and I have watched a few of the longer youtube videos featuring Mike Paletta and Sanjay Joshi. They have been testing all kinds of LEDs and stuff and they keep going back to T5HO and metal halides. It's kind of disappointing, really. I had my heart set on LEDs and the more I research, the more people are going back to the T5s and metal halides.

I guess I will be ordering that 6 bulb T5HO unit much sooner then I thought. I'm fine with T5's, I think I might even add a blue LED strip for extra effects. As far as I know right now, LEDs are great for soft corals and LPS, but some LPS and most SPS don't respond well to certain types of LED light... and as Pegasus has suggested on more than one occasion, it's hit or miss whether your getting a good LED unit or not when you order from overseas - which it comes to certain types of corals.

Apparently all the fish are getting enough to eat. I keep seeing them poop occasionally - so Im guessing that they are doing great as far as I can see. The two tangs that I recently added are so friendly to me and to each other. I'm very happy with those purchases.

The next two things I want to add are a lighting system and at least one variable speed powerhead. I'm working on both of them.

snakeblitz33