Hobby or money pit?

deejeff0442

The wife an i have been building tbis house for 2 yrs now.been living in this 38 foot rv .i better be in the house by xmass or i think i will be single.again.my wife wants 3 things in the house. A fireplace .a soaking tub so i made a spot for a jetted tub and also a front foyer.which is a waste of space i think.so i get my fish tank.which i would get anyway since i will be paying for it.problem she gets he stuff before me lol.oh well happy wife happy life i hear

john suh

Not a bad idea, just remember what ev was in there tank will now be in yours. Good and bad
Speaking of which, what I thought was "Dead" Live rock, hah. Was watching my crabs feed when I noticed a spaghetti like worm protruding in and out of a chunk of live rock. Was freaky looking but after some google searches sounds like its reef safe and actually good for the tank. Some of these things must be able to survive a good time out of water :)

snakeblitz33

Where there is life, there is hope.

It's not that I don't have the money. Lol. We work full time and I have a decent budget. My priorities are just changing. I still want the tank. I'm just,... Blah.

john suh

Where there is life, there is hope.

It's not that I don't have the money. Lol. We work full time and I have a decent budget. My priorities are just changing. I still want the tank. I'm just,... Blah.
Understandable. I can see maintenance being lots easier and quicker with a smaller tank. A 20 pct water change on a 100 gallon or a 20pct on a 30? While I love to have a large tank, my 30 long is perfect for me and my inhabitants and while the initial costs were steep to get everything going, am in the maintain stage now and it will be smooth sailing the rest of the way.

seecrabrun

yes, I do weekly water changes on my tanks. 10% on each which is 2 gallons and 4 gallons. Or 1 bucket on 1 and 2 buckets on the other. Much more manageable!

snakeblitz33