Need Help with Protein Skimmer

alexspks2u

Hi all
I'm new to this hobby, its something that I been interested for a while, so after trying to learn as much as I can before actually getting my tank, I have finally decided to go for it.
As of now I need help regarding my protein skimmer as I'm not sure if its not working properly or its still breaking in, I set up my tank about 10 days ago and its just going through the cycling process, as I started the tank I added the skimmer at the same time, I've heard that the skimmer need some time to break in, but mine has been overflowing since I installed it, just lots of bubbles going out, it says on the instructions to keep with at about 8 to 10 inch submerged and as I have it right now its sitting on about 8inch may be a little less but its really not too much, I don't know if its because I don't have any fish or inverts yet and that's why the skimmer is taking longer on getting a slime coat or if there is something wrong with my skimmer.
Some info about my skimmer its a ESHOPPS S-120 snow cone skimmer, submersible, its sitting on my 35 gallon sump, I have a 75 gallon tank running with live sand and life rock.
With that said another quick question that has been bugging me, just out of curiosity my lfs guy helped me installed the tank and I got caribsea life rock from him (not live) he assured me it would work exactly as if using cure live rock, does anybody know if doing a cycle with just life rock and live sand works?.
Tanks again for anyone that would like to provide me some suggestions and have a great day.

Attachments

Last edited:

Tony Jacot

This is what your shooting for with your skimate.. But if your cycling your tank then you wont have much to skim out yet. you want the bubble to just barely fall over...anything other than that would be considered a wet skimate. Yes with live rock and live sand it will help cycle the tank but not as fast as it would be if you introduced a few damsels.

Attachments

deejeff0442