mini/nano tank

So I am new to the world of salt water. I have been asking questions here to try and build some knowledge on the subject.

I am wondering if a 5 gallon salt water tank with some shrimp would be possible,

I want to have live rock (coral if I can) and some shrimps.

I know its harder to have a 5 gallon salt tank because its harder to keep it stable.

But I have found that I n my fresh water fish tank I was able to keep shrimp and crayfish with almost no maintenance at all.

Is this possible, because in my current situation I don't want to have to move a bigger salt water setup

lmforbis

It is not impossible but It would be very difficult to maintain a tank that small. You can't really equate it to fresh water. Everything is more sensitive to changes in water quality and parameters. I have been doing salt water for over 15 years and I'd never try it. My smallest is a 40b.

My problem with it is moving, and costs. An space.

I don't want to dismantle my fresh water tanks, and only have space for a 10 at max.

I just want to try salt out, grow some live rock, and maybe have like some shrimps. I don't mind extra work, I just can't have anyth bigger

bang guy

I've done nano tanks a few times successfully. The difficulty has already been discussed. If your goals are modest like you said then you should be able to pull it off.

We have a Nano forum here, I'd rcommend going through past posts.

I'm trying to decide between a 5 gal and 10, I have 2 or 3 5 gal sitting around, and would have to buy a 10.

What are some of my fish options for both?

Are clowns reasonabe? What about a starfish?

What are the options I can have with 5 gal? Would it be worth it?

bang guy

10 all the way. There isn't a lot of equipment acceptable for tanks smaller than 10 gallons in saltwater. I had a 5 gallon once, meh, it's just OK. Here's a picture of a 10 gallon I did some years back:

That is amazing. Very nice.