Reef Newbie

Kronic

I am new to the reef keeping hobby, so new I haven't even set up my tank yet. My wife bought me a Coralife Biocube 29 for xmas and I have been gathering as much knowledge as I can about the hobby so I can try and do this right the first time. I have the tank now set on the stand and did a simple filter modification since everywhere I looked people said the bio balls should be tossed. I removed them and the filter pad and put in 2 eshopps sump sponges for mechanical, a bag of Matrix bio media and a bag of Purigen for chemical, and have ordered 25lbs of live rock for the biological. I also bought 40lbs of Arag-alive Fiji pink sand. The tank is still empty until the rock gets here. I also have bought *****'s Real Ocean Water to fill the tank after the rock has been set up and sand put in. My first questions are as follows. 1. Will the die off from the live rock be enough to start the cycling process or do I need to still use a small raw shrimp? 2. I plan on getting a powerhead to increase the flow in the tank, but is this important to have while cycling or is the stock pump enough to start? Any and all help is greatly appreciated! I am very excited to start my first tank!

jay0705

Well first welcome. The die off should be enough. Test your water maybe 2 days after you put the rock in. If u see ammonia its started the cycle. If not add a shrimp.
Power heads will help speed the process but are not needed no.
Water, do u plan on always buying it or will u be mixing your own?

Kronic