I'm a noob. Can't wait to learn!

Ponykeeper

Hello all!

I am very new to saltwater and about to set up two saltwater tanks: a 120 gallon tall (my husbands baby) and a 45 gallon corner tank strictly for seahorses (my baby). I am extremely interested in learning about a natural tank for the ponies. I am not new to tedious cleaning regimes, I currently have 2 5 gallon planted tanks with one male betta each, a 2.5 planted for my female betta, a 30 gallon for my labyrinth gourami (pink kissing and blue gourami) it is also a grow tank for a tiny angel fish and a silver tipped shark, and 2 75 gallons with an Oscar, a Salvini cichlid firemouth cichlid, sunshine peacock cichlid, blue errie cichlid, a snowflake eel, and a pleco. I am very knowledgeable about cycling a tank and different types of filtration but, I realize a seahorse tank is a horse of a different color (pun intended) :)

I am super excited to begin my journey toward becoming a seahorse keeper. I've looked over several forums and this one seems to have the most friendly members. I look forward to learning from you all!

flower

Get out while you still have a retirement account!
LOL...true words of wisedom indeed!

Seahorses need colder tanks then regular fish, so instead of a heater, you need a chiller. Tropical seahorses need the temps to stay around 74 degrees, cold water types, such as the potbelly, need the temps in the 60s. A warmer tank will allow bacteria infections, the biggest killer of seahorses.