Thinking of entering the SW obsession

Starryblenny

I am new to this and hope to start by purchasing a 75g tank soon. Been reading, reading, reading. I want to have a FOWLR tank with live sand.

My first question.

This is my list of fish I have interest in. Can anyone look over it and let me know what can work together and which ones can fit into a 75g tank without being overcrowded? *= most interested

1. 1 BLUE SPOTTED PUFFER OR SADDLE VALENTINI PUFFER*
  2. 1 SQUARETAIL BRISTLETOOTH TANG*
  3. 1 ONE SPOT FOXFACE *
  4. 2 OCELLARIS CLOWNFISH*
  5. 1 KAUDERN’S CARDINALFISH
  6. 1 PURPLE FIREFISH
  7. 8 ZEBRA BARRED DARTFISH*
  8. 1 STARRY BLENNY*
  9. 1 CARPENTER’S FLASHER WRASSE
  10. 1 RED STRIPE ANGELFISH

I know it will be awhile before fish are ready to go into tank.

I have selected tank, stand, filter, protein skimmer, and heaters that I plan on buying. Anybody know of anything else I should be thinking about or looking to purchase?

Last edited:

jay0705

You did your homework lol. 8 zebras could be a tad much. Puffers will depend on types if any inverts u want to keep. I have both types , both are fine w fish. Shrimp would be iffy. Your highlighted fish are all good choices. The one spot is the smaller of the foxes.

Starryblenny

You did your homework lol. 8 zebras could be a tad much. Puffers will depend on types if any inverts u want to keep. I have both types , both are fine w fish. Shrimp would be iffy. Your highlighted fish are all good choices. The one spot is the smaller of the foxes.
I would like to have at least one shrimp, so would that be a no go for the puffers. If I dropped the puffer and the zebras to 6 could all the rest of the fish go into a 75g?

Although I really like the puffers. Any suggestions? Similar fish?

jay0705