Brittle star diet?

billy2k1

Can somebody tell me what kind of food is best for a brittle star?.Also,i'm adding calcium,iodine,strontium and manganese.My intention is to start adding some corrals in the future.Is this a good idea?
All i have is 30g tank,wet/dry with 8g sump,protein skimmer,live rock,live sand,a small cleanning crue (5 snails,5 blue leg hermit and a star fish).I will add a hang on refugium 18".
Also have one false percula (nemo) and one bangaii cardinal.
amonia 0
trites 0
trates 5
ph 8.4
specific gravity 1.026 using refractometer.
water temp between 80 and 82 deg. :notsure:
The tank has been running for 4 months.
Any advise will be greatly appreciated.I'm new to this hobbie,lot of readding is all i got so far.

S

sinner's girl

You should research an animal before buying it.
Brittle stars like raw shrimp and other raw seafood, brine shrimp (though hard to feed it to them), algea-sometimes. and whatever it finds in your tanks. They say some will eat small fish, Mine never did (that I saw).
Loved raw, unseasoned salad shrimp-1/3 to 1/2 depending on size of star about once a week. Whenever sinner gets a seafood package, I borrow a few pieces and feed it to the stars.
Levels look fine to me, make sure you are testing for whatever chemicals you are adding!
***) When did he show up? I like this one.

1journeyman

I wouldn't add any chemicals unless you see a specific need. Water changes provide calcium, trace elements, etc....

unleashed