Bubble Tip Anemone hanging upside in the dark

xaphann

Hi
I have restarted my salt water tank. As I have been slowly building it up (cycle, live rock, fish, etc...) I went to my LFS to get a flame angel. After talking with the owner a bit I got a very small bubble tip anemone (half an inch in size). It wasn't something I really planed on doing it just kind of happened (got him to give to me for free with the flame angel).
Well I placed the anemone on some live rock and seemed happy for the night. This morning i woke up to find the anemone hanging upside down on some live rock. It is in the dark as far as can tell. figuring that was a night spot I left him be. Over the day he has moved around but has always stayed underneath and out of the light.
Since I am new to anemones, don't know if I should be panicked, concerned or this is normal.

anonome

That is really a tiny anemone. I would say that it is adjusting to its new surroundings. Since it is attached, this is a good thing. Staying out of the light could be bad if it continues, but should find a happy spot to stay soon. Are your lights stronger than where it was at the store? What type of lighting do you have?
Anemones need really good water quality. What are your perameters?
If you touch the anemone is it sticky? If it is sticky then it is healthy.

dogstar

Originally Posted by xaphann
(half an inch in size).
Welcome to the site.....
IMO, this is not normal. I doubt it is a BTA. They are not normally sold or kept or seen that small. A pic would help.

B

bonita69

They are strange animals I have 2, did real weird things untill they settled into my tank, but again my tank was set up for 1 1/2 years before my first one was introduced to my tank. My second one I just got(last week) a year later from the first. Water and lights are everything to these animals! If your sure you have all the right conditions to house these guys, just leave him be,