pics DIY PVC OVERFLOW!

hal000

just wanted to share,
i have been using pvc overflows for about 5 years never had a tank overflow yet.
here are some pics of a diy pvc overflow,sump-refuge,and i threw in a pic of a diy rubbermaid sump(overkill) on my fw red bellies tank. hope they help.
oh ya google ( diy pvc overflow)

hal000

oh heres the pics
( 1ST pic is not mine, I just got it of net.
hope owner does not mind. and i thank him)

hal000

you can buy or build an overflow. the type above cost about 6$ to build.
they are very easy to build, you do not need to drill glass as they hang on back. And they create a continuos siphon, that does not loose suction even when water drops below overflow(ie. water changes, power outtages). when the water goes back above the over flow it starts working again,on its own.
also by putting 2, 1 on each side of the you will diffenatly lower chances of somting going wrong.I doubt 2 would ever fail at the same time. like I said, I
have been using these for about 5 years,an never had 1 stop working,unless I stopped it, by blowing air tru it.
also I think youtube has vids of these, search pvc overflow.
IMO, I think tanks with built in overflows are a huge waste of tank volume!
also rubbermaid or sterlite wet drys, or sumps can be done under 20-25$. I use these on all my FW, FO,and FOWLR. the serilite 3 drawers storage containers hold large amounts of fiter media, about 5 gallons each drawer.
IMO. for freshwater,or fish only they blow any store bought out of the water.
And to be able to slide out a drawer to change out media, is easy and awsome! this setup can also be changed around to make a refugium.
you should only spend your money on a good return pump!
The rest DIY all the way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hal000

no, it creates a continous siphon, that remains in the pipe, and only moves water, when water overflows the pipe. you really have to see it to believe it!
there is a little more detail on how to build it, you can not see from the pics.