Should I get a Diamond Watchman Goby?

raptor72

My 11 gal. QT is almost ready to kick my clowns to the 125 gal. DT so I'm looking at my list to see what I'll put in there next. I've had my eye on this sand sifter, but I'm wondering if all that sifting will be bad for my beneficial bacteria. Input please.

btldreef

They're jumpers as well, a fact that many overlook or just don't know.
IMO, if you have a very established, healthy tank, you can usually get away with one sand sifting goby. I have had one for years (banded bullet goby). I've learned not to place corals in the sand because he will bury them 99% of the time. Diamond gobies sift A LOT of sand and pose a threat to the beneficial fauna in your sand bed. How old is your tank? How deep is the sand bed?

snakeblitz33

So, BTLDreef, what fish/goby would you recommend if not a diamond watchmen goby, if one still wanted a goby?
I ask because I'm not very good with fish - I'm a lot better with equipment, DIY, chemical balances and corals... I'm trying to learn my fish better!

btldreef

With a 1-2" sand bed, you could really deplete your sand bed, especially since the tank is >1 year. A lot depends on the quality of your live rock and sand, but it's usually safe to assume that the goby could deplete a sand bed, especially one of the heavier sifters like a Diamond Watchman.
I do not think that all the sifting gobies are terrible (I have two). The Greenbanded Goby is actually a great little fish. They don't sift too much and can be kept in small groups.
I know some like Yellow Watchman, but I've had some bad experiences with them getting very aggressive as they mature. I had a mated pair and one day my male just went insane. He killed the female, a mandarin, ripped out the eye of my Bullet Banded, attacked and shredded the fins of a 8+" Sailfin Tang, etc. All fish he had been with for over a year. Feedings habits/diet weren't changed, nothing changed, he just went nuts.