What is grey dust like layer in tank?

reeferchief

I have a 65G reef tank. I had a big nitrate spike about a week and half ago where they were off the chart. Flow was bad in my tank and green algae was forming. Since I have fixed the water flow, done 3 water changes between 10-20 gallons each. The nitrates have come down some but are still present, I have fed less to the fish and the green algae is going away except now I'm getting a lot of grey dust looking build up. This seems to be a lot more on the live rock and almost seems like it is turning from dust into hair.
My question is what is this dust/hair stuff?

reeferchief

I have 2 carbon filter bags and a phosphate remover bag also. It is detritus most likely but it looks likeit is growing into hair. I'm somewhat new to reeding so trying to get educated. There is also a green algae film growing on the glass each day. Every day I wipe it and the next dat it's back. Is this normal?

coralman05

Yeah everyday I have to scrub my glass. I don't have a lot but, still have to scrub it.. How long has your tank been up? Before your problem how often would you change your water? When the last time you changed your carbon? power head? lastly, phosphate remover is a temporary fix IF your phosphates are high you have to find WHY they are and fix that. I used phosphate remover once but it only lasted about a day then my phosphates were high again( because what ever is causing the phosphates to raise is still happening). and I'm pretty sure you have to remove it after a day or two.. and the "hair stuff" comes out when you Russel up the tank because its feeding on whats going around.

reeferchief