Best LED for Coral Growth

6stokes

Hey everyone, I've been out of the game for a few years, but starting a 24-gallon nano now. I know that nanos are a little more difficult than larger systems, but I have lots of experience in the trade.

I want to have both SPS and LPS in this tank and don't want to deal with the heat of MH. I would really like to make the leap to LED and wanted some advice on a good system out there that can support my corals. My tank is about 17.5 inches wide, so I need something that won't overhang the tank. I don't think that will be an issue, as I've been looking at various models and they all seem to be pretty small. I just don't want something that is too strong to avoid burning/bleaching or something too weak that won't support good growth.

So who has something that they really like and has done a good job for you? Money is not a factor, but I do appreciate saving...

Thanks in advance for your input!

2quills

I have a couple of aqua illuminations hydra fixtures I'm pretty happy with.

You may want to check out their Prime HD fixtures for nanos.

6stokes

I have a couple of aqua illuminations hydra fixtures I'm pretty happy with.

You may want to check out their Prime HD fixtures for nanos.
That is a good price! Does one have enough intensity? Looks like I can control dawn and dusk? Do I need a separate controller?

I was looking at the Radion XR30W Gen 4, but that is real pricy and a controller on top of it.

2quills

I think the prime would be fine but the highest par is going to be centralized in probably a 12"×12" area.

If you want high light demanding livestock in the sand bed around the outer parameter of the tank then the hydra 26 should be more than plenty of coverage.

I got mine a few years ago when they had the optional wireless control.

From what I understand now is you download a app to your phone and control them that way.