Ammonia

kiwis

So I've got about 7-8 years freshwater experience under my belt and are about to dive into marine aquariums now.

Just writing a document for my use of the chemistry of marine so I understand it all. Firstly I'm looking at Ammonia, like any tank I understand Ammonia comes from fish waste and uneaten food etc. Does anything else in Marine tank cause Ammonia? (Coral?).

Other than water changes, removing excess for etc how else can you remove Ammonia from your tank and ensure it's converted into Nitrites?

beth

Administrator
Staff member
Ammonia can come from anything that is organic in your tank. Fish, inverts, live rock.

You seem like you may need to do a bit of research prior to actually setting up your tank. I'd strongly recommend getting a very good marine aquarium "how to" book. I'd recommend, "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist". It will take you from A to Z in the learning process, and it does have a good many pictures, diagrams, learning aids, etc. It's not technical. Well worth your time and you will come away knowing how to start and maintain your tank.

As you said, ammonia is the byproduct of the waste of living organisms, or decay due to death or uneaten foods. The process of getting rid of it is actually referred to as the nitrogen cycle. In a marine aquarium the conversion of ammonia into nitrite, then nitrate results when nitrifying bacteria begins to breakdown the ammonia. At the point that your aquarium water tests only for the nitrates, then that cycle is complete. However, you will not want to call it quits. Best to also have a means to export the nitrates either through water changes, or, best way, making natural filters a part of your system--live rock, live sand, refugium, etc.

silverado61