A Little Confused! Please Help

Cheech

Hey

I’m very new to the hobby, and I’m starting to set up my tank. I have a few questions that maybe I could get some help with:

1. I have an Eshopps WD-100CS. Do I need a submersible pump in there? If so, any recommendations? (I’m kinda on a budget)

2. Do I need to add water to the wet/dry or will the water from the tank be enough?

3. I don’t have my rock yet, but am getting it soon. I’ve already filled my tank. Can I add it later and will anything negative happen with doing that?

4. I have a tentative stocking list. Let me know if I’m going in the right direction, and also any suggestions are appreciated
• 2 True Percula Clowfish
• 2 Black and White Clownfish
• 1 Spot Foxface
• 1 Blue Tang
• 1-2 Yellow Tangs
• 1 Yellow Eye Kole Tang
• 1 Flame Angel
• 1 Emperor Angel
• Some Gobys or sand sifting fish
• Cleaner Shrimp/Crabs/Snails

Thanks!!

lmforbis

1. You will need a return pump. Wet dry filters are not really recommended any more. You can probably turn it into a kind of sump though.

2. Yes you will need water

3. Normally you add rock first then sand then water. Rock first because you want it stable on the bottom the sand then adds to that stability. Water is last. Adding rock last means it won’t be as secure. Som fish and inverts move the sand and will cause rock to topple possibly breaking the tank and injuring the life.

4. Need more info on the tank. Size, reef or fish only etc.

Cheech

1. You will need a return pump. Wet dry filters are not really recommended any more. You can probably turn it into a kind of sump though.

2. Yes you will need water

3. Normally you add rock first then sand then water. Rock first because you want it stable on the bottom the sand then adds to that stability. Water is last. Adding rock last means it won’t be as secure. Som fish and inverts move the sand and will cause rock to topple possibly breaking the tank and injuring the life.