Search results

1. barelycuda

Please help me with my nitrates!

I would agree with the above. I had problems with nitrates & my wet/dry for some time. I built a replaced the wet/dry with a sump I built, did a couple of water changes and my nitrates have been just abouve zero ever since. Cuda
  2. barelycuda

"Zero waste" RO system

No sorry, I live on the other side of the border in Vancouver, Wa. Cuda
  3. barelycuda

"Zero waste" RO system

I am no expert but I believe that this unit is not a DI unit, just RO. Also what is the rating for the sytem in gallons produced per day. It would suck to have a unit that took 3 days to produce enough water to do a decent size water change. Just a thought. Cuda
  4. barelycuda

Skimmer question

I have a skimmer similar to yours. The paperwork with mine said it had a 72 hr break in time but I have heard of other skimmers taking longer. Adjust the water level down with the red nob during the break in & then slowly raise the level up until you have only a dry foam entering the...
  5. barelycuda

Water #2

You may want to check at your LFS. The one next to my house has RO/DI water premixed for 80 cents a gallon or just RO/Di for 50 cents a gallon. I just take in a 5 gallon jug once a week for my water change & for $4.00 it's well worth it.
  6. barelycuda

How many uv watts for a 55?

I have either a 15 or 18 watt UV in my 55.(sorry for not remembering.) I have been told 300 gallons per hour is what is supposed to flow through it for optimum results. Everything has been going great with it. Hope this helps.
  7. barelycuda

water question

Have you checked with your LFS for RO/DI water? The one near my house sells it cheaper than the grocery stores do. They also sell it premixed with salt for a very reasonable price. My tap water has a lot of minerals in it that I don't want in my tank. Also some local water supplies introduce...
  8. barelycuda

feeding