bheron copper in tap water

beaslbob

in thread: https://forums.saltwaterfish.com/t/111286/is-tap-water-bad bheron posted:
BTW - the copper in my tap water ruined my tank, liquidated my inverts so I couldnt even a snail, and ruined my live rock. Fish were fine.
Bob - what's your position on copper in tap water? probably just throw some plants in there and they'll be fine?

Just thought this would make a good thread
Bheron, can you give me some more specifics as to how you absolutely know it was the copper and why i came from your tap water? What was the actual copper levels?

bheron

I'll post here - ignore the one I started in Reef tanks. This seems to be a better location for newbies anyway...

bheron

Ok, here's what happened - back in Oct 2002....
I had a somewhat weak tank going on, complete newbie. 75 gal with about 20lbs weak LR. 3 damsels and a cool cinnamon clown that enjoyed themselves and all the space. had a REALLY bad algae problem - green and red - which bought me to this site eventually.
I did the usual newbie and jumped the gun b/c we were having a party, so i wanted to impress!!!
I went out and bought a sea urchin and an anemone. I know!!! nuts. I also had another fish but cant rememebr what it was.
They lasted during the party so my friends thought i was the man. but within a few hours the anemone literally wilted away - couldnt hurt that i only had 110W of PC lights either, huh? urchin lost all spines and then died.
hmmm. so i went and bought some snails next b/c i thought they might help with algae all over the CC and LR - kind of like a thin blanket. within hours they all literally "liquidified". By this I mean not only did they die, but they disappeared!!! yep.
so....i found this site and someone said copper can do that. so i bought a copper test kit and sure enough it was loaded.