Canister Filters? Will too much Filtration turn into a bad thing?

smorrical24

I am a new hobbyist and have done a lot of research. My husband surprised me with a 30 Gal fish tank and stand and we are using it for our first saltwater fish tank. I currently have a power filter that hangs on the back of the tank it is doing a pretty good job now I know I will have to upgrade to a canister filter. Foster and Smiths website has this Canister filter with UV sanitizer for $108 and it can filter a tank up to 100 gal. If I used this filter for my little 30 gal is that too much of a good thing? I will eventually upgrade to a bigger tank the more comfortable I get with this hobby. Let me know what you guys think!

Savannah

flower

Welcome to the site!
I use caniste filters, I can keep LPS and soft corals, nitrates have become a problem so SPS corals needs a better filter. The UV is a waste of your money. It kills the good critters too unless you turn it off at night, and attached to your filter you can't do that.
The larger canisters just hold more media and have larger input/output pipes..too big for your 30g unless you cut the pipes down. Going larger is always best, but no need to go that big...try a Fluval for a 60g...look into skimmers too, they pull out yuck you can't even test for.

smorrical24

Alright I will look into it! I have read about protien skimmer and I still dont understand exactly what they do... Maybe I have to reread those chapters is their a band you like? I currently have two false percula clownfish! It is their fourth day in their new home and they are eatting and a hoot to watch! I am closely monitoring the pH, ammonia, nitrite and Nitrate levels. In four to six weeks if all goes well I would like to add another fish. With nice filter how many fish do you think I would have in the 30 gal?

flower

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMorrical24 http:///forum/thread/382043/canister-filters-will-too-much-filtration-turn-into-a-bad-thing#post_3331607