Clowns died but Damsels are fine

Tyler Couey

So I am very new to keeping a saltwater tank. I caught a large marine hermit crab at the beach and I wanted to keep it. I followed my lfs advice and bought a 20g tank and kit and set it up. I put live sand in it and I bought a few cases of the water that they said was straight from the ocean. (I did that because they said the tank wouldn't have to cycle or anything and I could put the crab in a few days after and get some fish). So I went home, set everything up and put the hermit crab in the tank. It was perfectly fine after a few days I went to my lfs and got my water tested. Everything looked perfect so I got two damsels to make sure everything would be okay before I got a pair of clowns. After the damsels and hermit crab lived for about i week I went to go get a clown. They all lived happily for about a few days and then all the sudden the crab came out of its shells and stopped moving and died within a day's time (it wasn't molting and it had been out of the ocean for like two weeks by this point). So I immediately got the crab out and then all was fine for another three days. I went to the lfs and got my water tested again and all was perfect and I was talking to them about getting more fish and they said it would be fine if I put two more clowns in there. So I did. After about two days the original clown turned pale, at the surface breathing rapidly, and looked slimy so I called the store, they said to come in and they gave me this formaldehyde treatment to dip the clown in and gave me proper instructions on have to do it. I went home and did it and the clown died shorty after. (I did it EXACTLY how I was told and they demonstrated). So they said to read the intructions and put the correct amount of the treatment in the tank so I did. A day or so after, I noticed the other two new clowns were staying at the surface not doing much, hardly eating. I assumed it was because they weren't used to the tank yet and from