Getting back into the hobby

insaneglitchx

Hi everyone. My name is Justin. I kept a 37g saltwater tank and a 75g tank with 40gal sump/refugium growing up, but I've been out of the hobby for more than a decade. I was a very active member back in the early 2000's as Xabxam. I've had a few small basic freshwater tanks and a kept crested geckos in very elaborate live planted terrariums, but kept it simple, as I was a student and frequently moving. I'm now an Emergency Medicine resident physician living with my girlfriend, who's a family medicine resident physician. (think Scrubs, but a lot less singing) I'll be helping her set up her old 55g freshwater tank this weekend. She's more into the simple 'beginner' style with plecos and goldfish... boring. I couldn't talk her into a planted freshwater tank. Anyway, my girlfriend setting up her 55g is really relighting my love for the hobby. There's just something special about having fish, shrimp, crabs, snails, starfish, fish, coral, etc. that you just can't get with a freshwater tank. I live about 30 minutes east of Ann Arbor, and I visited a huge pet store in Lansing (I assume we still can't mention specific company names) that really got me excited.