Has your pufferfish puffed up?

lionstorm

Mine (4" porcupine puffer) never has and I've had him for almost 4 months soon. Even when we moved him with a clear plastic container and back he didn't puff. I know its a good thing because it means he isn't stressed out, but I kinda want to see him inflate :( don't worry though i'm not going to provoke him.

I

irenicus

My pork and my dogface puffed up. The dogface was incredible. I've only seen it once... what a treat :cool:

bullshark

I was a SCUBA instructor/divemaster in Ft. Lauderdale for almost 3 years. I was out on the boats diving everyday. I have seen hundreds of baloonfish(puffers, porkeypine fish, etc.) It takes quite a bit of coaxing to get them to puff up. You've got to basically press down on them like something is eating it before they will inflate. From what I understand, it is quite stressful. I feel bad now after getting all those poor guys to inflate. I would be worried if one puffed up unprovoked in an aquarium.
Dont flame me, I was young and stupid.

I

irenicus

Sometimes puffers do that "puff" for no reason whatsoever. Maybe it is synonomous with stretching.

grouperhead

I once saw a striped dogface puff up for no apparent reason. Like someone earlier stated, it may kinda be like stretching. It was a treat for sure. He only stayed that way for a few seconds, but it was an incredible sight. Bo

michaeltx

all my puffers puff up after a big meal. the most spectacular is the porkypine that I have seen though. great fishes.
Mike

bobo

yeah i agree puffers sometimes puff for no apparent reason. i've seen both my stars n stripe and dogface puff up. when they do it looks trully amazing. they get 4 or 5 times bigger than they were. i usually see them puff from a distance then i'd go to the tanks for a closer look. they don't like staying puffed for too long though apparently.

cincyreefer