Help with tongue coral :(

meowzer

OK...late last night I noticed a small white spot on the edge of my tongue coral :( Got home tonight and the spot was bigger...I have 2 pics attached....What can I do? Can it be cut? suggestions please...I thought it was doing great....till now :(

scott t

Thats a nice piece of Coral too.. Its a shame.. could something in your tank be picking at it??

scott t

Hmm I wish I was a Coral Expert, but that I am not.. LOL I dont even have a tank set up yet.
It almost looks like something has been chewing on it..

S

shrimpy brains

Had a tongue coral forever, till it got covered in sand. After that, I couldn't save it. I don't think that is your problem though. I also think something is nipping at it. You could try a coral dip or coral restore. The restore can be put in a syringe and targeted to the effected area. Also, I've heard people have "painted" coral dip or iodine on the area. Or you can just wait and see if it heals on its own.

meowzer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrimpy Brains http:///forum/thread/381462/help-with-tongue-coral#post_3322895
Had a tongue coral forever, till it got covered in sand. After that, I couldn't save it. I don't think that is your problem though. I also think something is nipping at it. You could try a coral dip or coral restore. The restore can be put in a syringe and targeted to the effected area. Also, I've heard people have "painted" coral dip or iodine on the area. Or you can just wait and see if it heals on its own.
LOL...well Shrimpy...Now I really know what to do

I'm so upset about this :(

scott t

Oh I would totally be upset about it to Meowzer.. That is a very nice coral, You have every right to be upset about it.. It really does look like something is nipping at it to me.
You dont think one of the fish you have in the tank could be nipping at it do you?? Or maybe you have a Hitchhiker that you dont know about? That is the best suggestion I can give you.. Sorry about the coral...