Is frogspawn really an "expert only" coral? (like swf.com describes)

kilofey

swf.com says this coral is only for expert reefers.... But it seems to be doing great in my tank and im fairly new with only 8 or so months of experience. I was wondering why it says theyre so challenging. Am I jumping the gun and thinking its doing well when maybe it might not be?
Ive had my 2 head frogspawn for about 5 ish months now. I dont see any new heads, but the heads do seem to be a bit bigger nowadays. How quickly do they sprout new heads? Anything I can do to make it grow faster? And mine is super well behaved, it never sends out sweepers, is that normal or does that mean its unhealthy? Overall, the coral has great color and the heads are big, but after seeing the thing on swf, it makes me wonder if its not doing as well as I think it is because im by no means an expert. Any thoughts or knowledge u can share?
Btw, it sits pretty low in my tank with medium flow. I have 300w kessil led and 54w t5. Theres a teenie bit of nitrates, but im working on slowly removing my bioballs to see if it will help because id like to have the coveted 0 nitrates lol

bang guy

Not sure if it should be called Expert. It is more susceptible to brown jelly disease than most corals.

kilofey

Glad I got rid of my indo elegance then, cause I think they get it easy too. How does a coral get BJD? Bad water or something?

reefkprz

brown jelly disease is a bacterial infection, can be caused by damage, poor water quality a combination or other factors as well. there is not really "one" vector for infection. and once it gets it its damned hard to defeat.

nycbob

shouldnt be expert imo. mine grows like crazy but i am also an expert. i have it in other tanks with not so great water and it thrives. as long as they get decent flow along with lighting, it is very easy.

kilofey