Live Rock Turning Brown - OK?

dfox

Hello. I setup my first 55 g saltwater tank about 2 weeks ago. Last week, the algae on live rock started turning white. About 1/2 of it turned white, the rest is still green/red.
Now, in the last 2 days, there are these brown spots appearing on the rocks. (See attached images.) Can anyone help me identify these? Are the normal/good or bad? Thanks!

bang guy

I see a lot of Diatoms on the rock. Diatoms are normal but excess dDiatoms indicate an abundance of Silicates. What is the TDS reading of your RO/DI filter? It might not be working properly and is allowing Silicates to come through for some reason.

jrmafia90

It's just the brown algae, its normal for the first couple of weeks suring cycling. It will be fine. I am a newbie but that's what I was told maybe somebody with more experience can help me out.

dfox

For anyone else who might be reading this thread, I think I have found at least a partial solution to this brown/red algae problem. The LFS and others on this board suggested turbo snails. Purchased 3 large turbo snails this morning. About 1/4 of the algae, shown in the pictures above, is gone as of this evening.

superwade2

Originally Posted by dfox
For anyone else who might be reading this thread, I think I have found at least a partial solution to this brown/red algae problem. The LFS and others on this board suggested turbo snails. Purchased 3 large turbo snails this morning. About 1/4 of the algae, shown in the pictures above, is gone as of this evening.

I'm getting some of that on my Live Rock after the 2nd week of cycling as well... I think alot of people will
you for both having fish in the tank while cycling and adding a cleanup crew before the cycle is done... Unless you had one the really rare super fast cycles...
Just my $.02's
SW2

dfox