Mysterious Lionfish Death?

DarionSkye

Hi everyone, I’ve been reading this forum for a while and gotten lots of useful information but this is my first time making an account and posting. I’ve been in the hobby for a few months now with a 55g long that’s been established for about the past two months. I recently picked up a volitan lionfish but just found him dead in my tank this morning less than a week later. I am clueless as to how this might’ve happened or what could’ve caused it. The other tank mates include a panther grouper, engineer goby, and Picasso Trigger, along with a starfish, urchin, and some snails and hermits. I know the tank is small for those types of fish but all of them are 2.5 inches or smaller right now and I plan on upgrading within the next couple months, and I don’t think that directly caused his death. My first thought was that the trigger killed him, but there were no broken fins, scrapes, or bite marks and I hadn’t witnessed him being picked on prior. I tested the water immediately after I found him and had

15 ppm nitrates

0 ppm nitrites

.25 ppm ammonia

I think the ammonia is because he was probably dead in the tank for a couple hours before I woke up. I feed them all frozen mysis shrimp and shrimp pellets. When I found him he had full color, no exterior injuries, and his mouth was open. The only thing that was different about this fish is that I got him from a different LFS. Any help/tips would be appreciated as I am relatively brand new to the hobby and this is my first fish death.

Also, my filtration system is 2 hang on the back filters, an aqueoun 55/75 and an Aqueon 20. I have 200W of heat pre set at 78. And I have 2 550gph powerheads, one in each corner.
Thank you in advance!

lmforbis