Nervous

shroncejoy

I just purchased a Coralife Size 32 LED BioCube Aquarium Deluxe Complete Reef System/Package, does anyone have any knowledge into this as to whether I made the right choice?...I have owned freshwater tanks all my life, this is my first attempt at saltwater, so I'm scared, I figured getting a complete system would be the best route...Also what is y'alls opinion on using live rock and/or sand?

shroncejoy

Live rock is a must. Live sand isn't needed. Go slow be patient and do your homework. SW is not terribly hard
I've heard pros and cons to both, some say live rock is better and others say live sand...I've heard that LR can harbor some pretty nasty parasites and such, that's why I'm confused...

jay0705

Most reputable fish stores keep live rock in tanks with nothing else. So really the only thing you need to worry about are certain hitchhikers. Bristle worms, crabs, star fish, ect. Personally I don't worry about them. I've gotten all of the above as hitchhikers on my live rock aswell.
The benefits far out weigh the concerns. Live sand to buy is pointless. Most of what your paying for is dead already. Live rock will seed your sand bed and turn it live

shroncejoy

Most reputable fish stores keep live rock in tanks with nothing else. So really the only thing you need to worry about are certain hitchhikers. Bristle worms, crabs, star fish, ect. Personally I don't worry about them. I've gotten all of the above as hitchhikers on my live rock aswell.
The benefits far out weigh the concerns. Live sand to buy is pointless. Most of what your paying for is dead already. Live rock will seed your sand bed and turn it live
Thank you for the information...

luvmyreef

I personally use both. Also, it depends on the fish you want as well. For example, a yellow watchman goby likes to burrow and likes/needs the sand...:)

shroncejoy