New SPS -ID? (pic)

keri

Picked this up yesterday, supposedly ORA from my LFS. I'm not very good at IDing SPS, anyone know what it is? (colours are fairly true to life in the pic except the tips are more violet in person)

lilbuddha

Wish I could help u .
I thought ORA's came on these black plugs that hard as get out to remove or cut off . I have never seen an ORA that large either .
How big is that frag ?
I would check back with the LFS with their stocklist and back track it for id .
I got a lil messy with the glue .
see the plug

trippkid

kind of looks like the "stuber" staghorn coral, looks like a nice growth pattern for you, mine is 1 long stick with branching on the end, I have to chop it up and remount a piece of it, one with more branching at the base. Very nice piece, and pretty easy to care for, if mine has made it through all of my mistakes, it is a hardy one. Good luck with it.
Matt

keri

Yeah, I don't really believe it was ORA either. I think it's probably a stag, hopefully it does well :) Most of my SPS do, but I just killed a digi when I switched tanks :(
Thanks!!

lilbuddha

It's hard to do that with a Montipora but we all have our days . It still is a nice addition .
Good luck with it and ur new tank .

mkzimms

its a blue flesh staghorn, i have one that looks almost identical. yours could be a true ORA, mine is ORA lineage from a local reefer's collection.

mkzimms