New tank help

sg88

Hi all,
I am a newbie in marine aquariums:
Staring a new marine aquarium and have had 4 fish die during set up. Appreciate ideas.

Details: Aqueon 15 gallon column tank, filter Fluval G3 (185gph flow rate). FOWLR. Substrate: live sand from local beach (oops...I have seen two small crabs <1 inch, something that looks like a bristle worm but is gray to colorless, not red like the pictures I see, and a few anemone-like things that have died off). Water is seawater from community outlet specifically placed for hobbyists. Temp of tank 78-84 Fahrenheit initially, now rock solid at 78.5 during last fish (thermoelectric chiller). First fish from local big-box pet store (Fiji Damsel, died in under 24 hrs. Water pristine low ammonia, 0 nitrite, 0 nitrate. Second and third blue-green Chromis from very reputable marine aquarium store died in 2-3 days each and I never saw them eat any of the marine flakes I provided. Final fish (same Chromis) died at 4 days in the tank, having gorged so quickly on mysis shrimp I fed him for two days that I gave him a fasting day because I was scarred he was overeating (by my overfeeding)...parameters were all acceptable, with Nitrite reaching 1.0 ppm between fish 3 and 4, but going to just detectable at .25 ppm after a water change prior to introducing the last fish. I did find the last fish the day before he died in a deep crevice in my rock with fins moving but uninterested in coming out for food I added. I thought he might have been stuck but checked again and he had reversed orientation. Next morning he was dead on the sand. No claw marks to suggest the little crabs had gotten him.
So I have read on the forum that the worm is not the likely culprit. Ammonia peaked at 2 ppm between fish 2 and 3 and has been 0 since. All parameters were good for fish 1 and 4. Salinity 1.020-1.023. pH 7.8-8.0.