Newbie 24 gallon all-in-one reefer.

3xplorer19

Hi guys. I’m new to this hobby. I have a 24 gallons saltwater tank. I’d say little over a month now. Yesterday, I did. 15% water change and today my yellow tang has red marking by the gills. Both sides. My pH is 8.2. Amonia is .25ppm, Nitrite 0 and Nitrate is 20ppm. Any help would do. I’ll repost the photos in a bit. I am using purchased Nutri Seawater and RO water. I’m my 24 gallons I have the following:
4 green chromis
2 clownfish
1 firefish
1 neon dolly back
1 mandarin
1 blue damsel yellow tail
1 philippine yellow tang
1 white bta
4 hermits
5 corals
9AABDAD4-27A8-413E-8D29-5C2F5FE662DC.jpeg
9AABDAD4-27A8-413E-8D29-5C2F5FE662DC.jpeg

Attachments

Last edited:

lmforbis

Your tank is way over stocked.
A 24 gallon maybe 4-5 SMALL fish. The mandarin doesn’t have a chance. The tang needs a much bigger tank so does the damsel. The chromis will kill each other off.
return the damsel the tang the mandarin and the chromes. At that point your stocked appropriately. I’m surprised your ammonia isn’t higher. Unless you have some very good (read as expensive) lights the BTA will die.
If your fish store said all this was a good idea find a new fish store.

lmforbis

On a tight budget I’d return the ones i said. All of these are aggressive. There will eventually be a blood bath and likely only one or 2 will survive. If you are truly attached you will choose to do what is best for the fish not for you. On top of that, the ammonia from an overstocked tank is burning their gills, not pleasant. I’d also suggest returning the anemone. It will die if the light isn't adequate, on budget lighting, it isn't going to survive and could nuke your tank when it dies.

3xplorer19

By taking away what was mentioned, would it be possible to keep the mandarin? I removed 1 blue damsel yellow tail and 4 green chromis.

Last edited:

lmforbis