Nitrates through the roof!!

Salty Chris

Hi, this is my first post. I am new to salt water aquariums. I have a huge problem with my nitrate levels! They are 160 on the color chart. I have a 75 gallon tank with a canister filter. My nitrite is 0 and my ammonia is 0. I have used two bottles of the natural nitrate reducer with no luck! I have had the tank going since October 10th of 2016. Plenty of live rock. I have a zebra morey eel, 2 damsels, cleaner shrimp, 2 star fish and three crabs. I do a 10% water change every two weeks and change the filter elements once a month. Does anyone have any advice? Do I need a protein skimmer?

Salty Chris

I clean the canister every time I change the polishing pad, carbon and pads at the bottom. So far it has been every 4 weeks. Also, I have about 1500gph flow rate in the tank with one power head and two hydor koralia circulation pumps. Is that too low for 75g tank?

lmforbis

Just clean out the inside of the canister. Rinse the media. The trapped junk breaks down in the canister which results in nitrate. The more junk that builds up the more nitrates you get. Because there is a constant flow of water that has dissolved oxygen this process is pretty efficient in a canister filter. Unfortunately the process of changing nitrates to nitrogen gas is anerobic and won't happen in the canister. The dirty canister is pumping nitrates into the tank until you clean it. I ran a tank with a canister filter for probably 15 years. All was good as long as I cleaned the filter weekly. You might consider switching to a hang on the back filter.

beth

Administrator
Staff member
Better not to use a canister filter. Do you have live sand? I'm assuming by rock, you mean live rock? Is the canister the only filter you use?

scrapman