Saltwater vs Freshwater

blanquita

Originally Posted by OceanKid
http:///forum/post/3245348
yes Dicus are sweet!
If I'm new to aquariums, is it advisable to go for saltwater? I have a fish tank but don't know much about it...

I dont think you really need freshwater experience to be able to do saltwater. I did FW for a long time and it didn't help much for starting SW. There is a lot more to learn! do a ton of online research. I have a few books but they dont really help I use the internet for everything so dont waste money on books. Haha I know im from the Millennial generation.

pezenfuego

Originally Posted by blanquita
http:///forum/post/3245963
I dont think you really need freshwater experience to be able to do saltwater. I did FW for a long time and it didn't help much for starting SW. There is a lot more to learn! do a ton of online research. I have a few books but they dont really help I use the internet for everything so dont waste money on books. Haha I know im from the Millennial generation.

Conscientious Marine Aquarist is a wonderful book that I highly recommend you buy and read. Yes, most books you will find about saltwater are close to worthless, but that doesn't mean you should rely solely on the internet.

chrisnif

I can say Fresh is easy, and some of them can be pretty, my "failed reef" is now a 56 gallon african cichlid tank with 50 pounds of "premium base rock" and they are happy (and base rock keeps my pH in the 8s) but that tank doesnt hold a candle to my 20 gallon reef that isnt even 1/10 done.
Just do your research first, I've probably blown 500 bux on stuff I didnt need or wasnt compatible...

noah's nemo