Starting a 10 Gallon Nano Saltwater Tank

xoxdreamon

HELP! I have been keeping freshwater tanks for several years but have never attempted a saltwater tank. I am a student so I'm looking to set it up for the lowest cost possible. I have searched a few things and know basic terms but no specifics (especially when it comes to those things on live rocks..... mushrooms? polyps? those thinggys..... i am totally lost there). I need help with which equipement is good and how to do readings. I would like a little clean-up crew of hermit crabs and snails (which ones) and maybe one fish or even a pair. Something colourful. I love vibrant colours on the layout but i know that usually comes with having brighter, more expensive lighting or harder to care for species of "things". I preferably want to try a FOWLR tank so i can use the live rock/sand to help the water.
If someone could help me pick out equipement and other specific things that would be great. I live nearest to a fish store which supplies live rock and a few small marine fish and equipement. Its a pretty good place. Around me in also a petsmart which has only freshwater stuff, another fish store with a few marine things, and about a 30 minute drive away is a Big Als which I've been to once and it looks great, but is sort of far away... :(
The stuff i currently have are the 10 glass gallon tank, the heavy-duty stand, and a water heater ( kinda like the one in the middle - http://static.ddmcdn.com/gif/choosing-aquarium-equipment-17.jpg ) and I've only used it for freshwater.... its old but works well. I have a Topfin hang-on-the-back filter but i doubt that will work for saltwater...