Sun Coral

rispa

Hello, I have no experience with coral and wanted to get more info before getting one. Sun corals don't require special and are seahorse safe and are one of my favorites so far, so I wanted to learn some more about them. What are ideal water conditions for them? I've read that they should be fed once a day towards night and kept in a shaded part of the tank. There's a person on craigslist selling them, so I've been kind of thinking about trying one, but I have a feeling I'm jumping ahead of myself.
sun coral
also looking at the worm, frag and sponge in this one
and the xenia in this one, but I think these guys need certain lighting right?
Any guides for coral would be appreciated :) I'd also love some personal adivce

btldreef

sun coral's are a great coral, but i don't know if i would consider them a good beginner's choice. that being said, you know you need to feed them daily, so you should be okay. i feed my daily with pe mysis, i just take forceps and place one mysis shrimp in eat mouth. they ar incredibly easy to feed. they do best in medium current and medium to low lighting. i have might in open light, but at the bottom of the tank in the sand.

as for the other corals and worm. all those should be fine as well, but i would stay away from xenia. they spread like weeds and many people regret putting it in their tanks.

what type of lighting do you have

rispa

for the moment I only have the basic tank lighting that you get with tanks from petsmart or *****. I haven't bothered getting lighting for the 55 gallon yet because I haven't decided for sure what type I want. My mom and her bf seem a bit light sensitive, so I'm hesitant to go as bright as I want to, but I'd like to be able to keep a few corals and algae. I may stick with sun coral and just put them all over the tank. I love how they look :) That tank still isn't up and running yet though. I'm still hunting for a used stand, but I'm at the point that I may just buy a new one.