What Are Some Cool Clean-up Crew Members?

Pisces28

Last night I went out and purchased a few guys for my cuc, as my new BioCube 29G tank has finally finished its cycle!

I got:
  • 1x Fire Shrimp
  • 1x Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp
  • 1x Scooter Blenny
  • 4x Naassarius Snails
I know this is nowhere near enough, but its what my LFS had at the moment.
I am looking for some ideas of cool cleaners, as I am new to this!
The tank will eventually contain soft corals, so I would not want to purchase anything that can kill the corals.
Also, would anyone suggest approximately how many members make a complete cleaner crew?

Bryce E

Is your scooter blenny accepting prepared food already?

As far as a clean up crew is concerned all's you really have is 4 snails right now. Sure the shrimp may forage for excess food left in the tank and some people would consider that part of the CUC package. But personally I do not. The main part of a CUC in my opinion are hermit crabs and snails... Hermit's are true scavengers and will seek out any leftover or uneaten food in the tank but they will also eat algae. The amount that you want is never very specific as you have to take several things into consideration. First off is bio load, so I'd ask what else you have in the tank as far as fish... or what you plan to have in the tank. For every animal that lives in the tank will reduce the amount of CUC that you can have. (But will increase the amount of CUC that you will want...lol)

Every animal produces waste... the better the filtration you have and the more frequent the water changes, the heavier you are able to go. It also depends upon the amount of live rock you have in your tank. if you have a tremendous amount then you'll also be providing more surface area for algae to grow and will want more. This increases your biological filtration however... it also reduces the amount of actual water in the system.

Can you post a picture of your tank? And maybe answer the following questions.