Xenia Question

ltvidal

Hello everyone.
I am new at this and my tank is up and running for about 4 months now. I added Xenia last week to the tank in addition to Bubble Coral and a few mushrooms. I started to notice that the Xenia is rotting away on one side of my rock. I have an established reef tank and the Ammonia, Nitrite and HP are on the money (0.0, 0.0, and 8.2) my Nitrates is a bit high (60-80). I need some help Please what do I do?
The coral is alive and feeds well however I am concerned abit.

ltvidal

One yellow Tang, two clowns, a bubble coral, two pepermints about 30 snails and 20 crabs.
A water change should do it right?

trippkid

Water changes to bring down the Nitrates. The Xenia is probably gone, they can be hit miss, sometimes they do well and others don't. The tank is not established, it is still very new a 4mo.. IMO that can take a yr or 2.

farslayer

Well, now not too large of a water change; going from really high nitrates to really low is also bad. And yes, what size tank do you have? how much sand, how much rock, what type of filtration?

spanko

Xenia are a good indicator of water quality and your is probably telling yor the nitrates are out its realm of comfort. Large water change to get them down. Do you have a standard water change schedule?

ltvidal

I have a 90 gal tank and I just dbl chked the levels and it is 40ppm.
The Xenia is looking good but out of 20 heads I saw 5 of them looking like underwater snot (LOL).

trippkid

I'd remove the ones that look bad. do several smaller water changes over the course of a wk or so to bring down nitrates. What is your temp. also, my colonies don't like it above 82 max.

farslayer

Originally Posted by LTVIDAL
I am using two(2) Aquaclear Filter inserts Activated Carbon for 110 gla
Excellent...that will greatly help...i'd pull the corpses anyway

chadman