12g JBJ Nano Lighting Question

ck_503

I'm wanting to know how those that have metal halides for their 12g nano's have it setup b/c it's something I really would like to do. Pictures would be helpful but if you could even private message me letting me know either where you found a good halides setup that maybe clips on to it or something that would work nicely for the 12 JBJ deluxe. I just can't seem to find a starting point so maybe you guys here can help me out. Thanks in advance!

ck_503

how do I do that exactly? I'm new to this so I need easy to understand instructions and/or pictures for guidance

pclown

I have the Aquapod 24g but it has the same concept: I bought the 20" Sunpod 150w HQI MH but they sell the 70W HQI MH and it should easily on the Nano Cube 12g.
Here are some pictures:

jakebtc

pcclown i was going to recomend a 70 watt retro but it wouldnt work because of heat and being to close to water and plastic then i was going to say a 20" auqualight 96 watt but if your tank is that big it makes his like 14 or so wide.
maybe a 96 quad retro ??
or would he have to go ahead and build a hood for it on the tank???

jakebtc

at only 85 $ and 8 watts a gallon it would be perfect for his tank 96 watt quad retro is like 16" x 7" x 1 1/2"
was thinkin just mount it from front to back rather then sideways

pclown

At $85, you are right! That is something I would look into and at 8 watts per gallon he would be good on just about everything.

ck_503

so you're saying that a 96 watt quad retro is my best option? And then to mount it using some plywood? How high should I mount it from the top of my tank?

jakebtc