1st post

pfunk

I am very new to the SW world and i have started a 55 gal tank. I got a skilter 400 filter w/ protein skimmer, a 550 powerhead, 2 22 in "power-glo" lights. I have around 5o lbs of LR and a nice bed of live sand that is about 3 inches deep. At this point i have 1 true percula clown, orange spotted goby, 5 hermit crabs, 1 horseshoe crab and 2 turbo snails.
I have had my tank up and running for going on about its 6th week. I have decent purples and greens beginning to pop up on my rock but i have a ---- ton of brown algae. I have never tested Ph, ammonia and all that other stuff. I do check my specific gravity and do frequent water changes though and have not lost either of my fish.
I plan on getting another perc tommorow from my LFS. At some point am i going to have to buy an anenome for my percs or will they be fine by themselves?
How many crabs/snails are a good number for my cleanup crew in a 55?
Should i be overly concerned about the brown algae that is growing rapidly in my tank? If its a passing phase, how long should it take before the growth calms down?
My fish and cleanup crew stay very active and appera to be healthy. There is some debris on the sand that has been there for awhile. Will my crew get to it or should i vacuum it with a gravel siphon i use on my freshwater? Does it sound like the tank is going in the right direction?
I want to have small peaceful fish in my tank, no big triggers or tangs or anything of that nature and eventually i would like some corals. Any suggestions?
Again thanks for any suggestions. I have been lurking for about two weeks now and i just got the courage up to post. Please reply to me in laymans terms or there is a good chance i will have no idea as to what you are talking about.

dindi