250 conversion

mopardwh

Well I have a really great 250 reef aquarium. Love it. However I bought it used and the furniture is kind of fugly. The wood has been painted black and is peeling, the hood has odd holes, nails, rot, mold etc. So I'm swapping it out for a nice new 300 and planning to refinish the 250 furniture and clean it up to start from scratch with an aggressive tank. I have no experience with aggressive fish. Since I already have 8k + into the reef now, I'd like to make this a budget slow build.

To start, I'm interested to hear about some cheap aquascape ideas. Making your own live rock so to speak, and maybe sand? Also, what about plants too? I've always wondered why any tank would be fish only with live rock, and not try some other species. I would like to get away with a little more than FOWLR. No ornamental crustations or anything, but I'll definitely throw in some mushrooms etc. One thing I really want, is to avoid the need for a lot of hand work inside the tank. I know its unavoidable at times but the reef requires it often. So specific equipment/sump ideas would be appreciated. Now for the inhabitant ideas.

I really want a scorpion/toad/frogfish of some sort, or even 2.
I've always wanted a shark as well. I realize the size restraint but I could literally build the aquascape specifically for one. Maybe a bamboo shark? What inhabitants would work with one?
Porcupine puffer. From what I understand, I believe it would work well with both previous.
Small sting ray, maybe?
Some type of eel.

In a perfect world, I would have these and maybe a couple more. Open for suggestions. I like panther groupers but would it pick on scorp?

Just brainstorming and looking for your experienced thoughts. Please and thank you.

mauler