29g FOWLR

lady becca

I am thinking of setting up a 29g FOWLR. Can you please tell me what I need?
I have a MaxiJet power head, and a whisper bio-filter and heater. What about Skimming? Lighting? Or any other items?
:confused:

brit0211

sorry i cant help, i'm new too
but, where in IN are you?
Im from Richmond
:happyfish :happyfish :happyfish :happyfish

petem

I'm new to this hobby as well. The one thing I learned...you need to have patience. Do you have any good books on SWF?
I have the New Marine Aquarium, and the Saltwater Aquarium for dummies book. The first one, takes you step by step on equipment, cycling. Actually setting up the tank. Both are very informative. I've also heard that the Concientious Marine Aquarist is good too.
In addition to your items already, you need a heater, if it's a FOWLR, a basic double strip lighting systems is all you need. preferably one bulb that's actinic.
hydrometer is necessary, Various test kits for Ammonia, Nitrites, Nitrates, Ph, etc. all of this info, you'll find here, and in those books i mentioned.
some people think you can wait on the protein skimmer, but I bought one right away. As far as the number of powerheads, I believe one would be enough for your size tank. I maybe wrong, I'm hoping someone else will add to this list.
One thing for sure, that I'm finding out for myself...this is not a cheap hobby, and it's also not for anyone that wants instant results. Good luck to you. I should be setting up mine in a week or so.
:happyfish

cprdnick

Buy a good skimmer. However it is not necessary, and I personally recommend, to run it until your cycle is complete.
Lighting as stated above, for a FOWLR needs nothing more than NO (normal output) lighting. The actinic bulb is not necessary, but is good for the asthetics of your new aquascape.