3 clowns + 3 anemonies = trouble

bacia

I am a two month old beginner. I bought a 58 gal tank off ----. I drove 5.5 hours each way to get it. I had a 75 gal tank part way set up to put everything in when I got home. I put in some of the old "sand", added all the old water to the new in the 75, put in the live rock and the animals. Prayed and went to sleep. Everything lived! Now the problem. Among the animals were a mated pair of cinnamon clowns, three long tentacal anemones and a smaller cinni clown. The mated cinnis are making a mess of the tank. They keep "kicking" up the sand and my 75 gal tank is full of brown stringy algae. Any suggestions on how to get my tank clean and keep it that way?

reef.magic

Well, for starters, can you post your chemical specs?
What type of inverts do you keep as a cleaning crew?
Keep an eye on the small cinni clown, as it will most likely recieve some bullying from the big female if he doesn't keep his distance....if you don't have a new home for him, give him one anemone on his side of the tank and keep the other two near the mated pair.
HTL a little
it is not uncommon for clowns to mess around in the sand

reef.magic

Originally Posted by alyssia
You can't have three clowns together. Two will bully the third and eventually kill it.
under certain conditions it surely is possibly

alyssia

Originally Posted by Reef.Magic
under certain conditions it surely is possibly

What conditions, other than a huge tank? I have not heard of anyone successfully keeping three clowns together long term.

mryoung7

it's possible ... i have a 25 gallon with only three clowns. and they're all different types. they've all gotten along unusually well for at least three months. definitely an exception to the rule.

bacia

Thanks to everyone who is answering. My response is long. Am I to wordy?