3 Dead Cleaner Clams

mantisman51

I have kept saltwater aquariums for almost 2 years (October) and fresh water aquariums for 22 years. I am brand new to inverts. I bought 3 cleaner clams from SWF and didn't see them for 3 weeks, then they came to the surface of my DSB and after a day they opened up and were clearly dead-coral banded shrimp had a really expensive seafood buffet. My 125 gal tank has been established since January. I used the established (from my 55 gal tank) Fluval 404 with a supplemental Fluval 50 gal underwater filter. I bought live sand and added my sand from the year and a half old 55 gal tank. Nitrate is 0, Nitrite is 0, Ammonia 0, Salinity is 1.0245, PH is 7.9. I used copper safe in the previous tank to treat ich. I didn't overdose, but after much reading I am wondering if any lingering Coppersafe in the sand may be the problem (I treated the 55 gal August of last year). When I set up the 125 gal in January, I replaced the carbon in the 404, but kept the other media to jump start the cycle. I didn't put the clams in until late April. The only inhabitant was my lined puffer for 3 months. The coral banded shrimp and hermit crabs were added at the same time and are doing fine. I have put turbo snails and nassarius snails in on 3 occasions and they all died within 1 week. Any other possibilities beside residual copper in the sand?

reefforbrains

Climate.
Most of what the industry considers "cleaner clams" are little neck or similar variety from cooler northern waters.
The warmer water we keep our tropical tanks is often too much for them.
Some do great while some die within days/hours.
Acclimation method and tank stability of lower temps seems to be biggest considerations.

alexknight