5 gal. tank

mom's bowl

Hi,
I am new to saltwater so I wanted to start out small. I purchased a 5 gal tank with live sand and started with cured rock. I was told by the saltwater retail store to wait for a couple of days and add soft corals such as mushrooms and polyps. One week later I added a clown fish and everything was going great. I tested the water everyday and the nitrites and ammonia levels were zero. Everything was fine until 2 days ago. Nitrites and ammonia levels were slighty elevated and the mushrooms stopped opening up. The polyps remained closed and then when light went on a hour later they were opened up. The clownfish died this morning. I have changed 50% of the water and now everything looks like it is stressed out. The polyps are slightly opened and the featherduster has extended itself out of the holder (I guess that is what it is called). The mushrooms are really small and have not bloomed like they were. I need help! If I can't make a 5 gal. work then there is no need to go bigger. :needhelp:

snipe

Well first off you have it backwords. In saltwater the params are so easily thrown off bigger is better. Get the biggest tank you can afford! Secondly I would go back to the LFS and smack up side the head because he lied to you took your money and then your stuff is most likely gonna die so you will buy more stuff. You stock saltwater tanks very very very! slow. You have to cycle the tank creating bacteria to eat the waste left over by fish and stuff. No fish IMO can live in a 5 gallon tank there is just no room "no Saltwater fish anyway".
So there is a case of stocking the tank to fast, stocking the tank with to mutch, stocking the tank without cycling and stocking the tank with things that need a bigger tank! Also the 50% water change will cause alot of problems! It dont seem like mutch but ppl only do 10% water changes "once" a week. So that is your problem before starting again get a bigger tank and ask ?'s here before buying anything!