About to loose it with filters...everyone has an opinion!

drogrant

So today I went to the aquarium store which was a huge mistake! Employee at the desk was super unprofessional and arrogant beyond belief. Knew nothing about the fish and invertebrate I want in my tank and then tried to sell me some over $300.00 filter system. He then informed me that my aquarium sucks and that my filters are crap....not in these exact words..but very similar! I'm new at this and I've posted a few time on here and you guys are very helpful and informative...please help me out!!
I have a 55 gallon tank..I would like to have a few shrimp, 2 clowns, 1 dominoe damsel (yes I know it can be aggressive), 2 Banggai cardinalfish, 1 burrowing crab, 1 pink pin cushion urchin, and1 bubble-tip anemone.
Crushed coral gravel layered with live sand and live rock.....then later a few coral and kenya trees.
What filter should I be using for this tank? I know lighting is important and will tackle that purchase next week...but what should I buy to filter my tank. Currently, I have the filters that came with the aquarium kit I bought....there are two very simple looking filters that almost seem cheap. Aquarium guy said they were only good for freshwater...but the kit i bought said it should be fine for tropical aquariums. I'm new to this hobby so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

flower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drogrant http:///t/394015/about-to-loose-it-with-filters-everyone-has-an-opinion#post_3506602