alge bloom

kissiefish

Hey all,
Got an alge bloom going on in my tank, its rather frustrating to watch my tank just have a green, cloudy tint to it. I did a 10% water change and that just made it worse. I did all my tests and they seem to be fine....PH 8.0, Amonia 0, Nitrate 10, Nitrite 0.22. I have had a few blackouts here this summer making it very hard, I have lost 2 fish to them. My clown and a damsel. I only have 2 fish left in my tank and want to get more but I would like the water to clear up first. I am going today to buy some earth for my filter with the hope this will put my tank back to normal, I have some calerpa (sp?) in the tank to try to take away from the bloom and I set up a second filter to also try to help. If anyone has some additonal advise it would be most appreciated. Since I am very new at this hobby it is hard to not get discouraged, but if I can beat this I will definatly be one happy girl!
Can't wait to hear from y'all
~Kissiefish~
PS just thought about it I have a bio-wheel on my tank is this adding to the bloom should it be disconnected?

ajroc31

" did a 10% water change and that just made it worse."
Do you use water, and if so that is your problem.

shanev

Originally posted by ajroc31
" did a 10% water change and that just made it worse."

Do you use water, and if so that is your problem.

Huh?? DId you mean to ask about tap water?
Does the water itself look green? If so it sounds like the calerpera went sexual. Does some if it looks grey instead of green?

kissiefish

I'm sorry I am not sure what you mean by "do I use water". I set up the water for the change 24 hours in advance with a power head and heater in a bucket. I got the salt in the made sure it was mixed well then did the change. My tank SG was at 1.21, and the bucket was at about 1.24 when i did the change. Was this the wrong way to go about a water change?
~kissiefish~

kissiefish