answers & opinions welcomed

two questions
1) will a protein skimmer be necessary/beneficial for a 55 gal fish only tank?
2) any type of preventative maintenance i can perform to help 'ich-proof' a tank? such as water conditioners or additives or tank maintenance?

fishfood

Well to start i would set up a Quarantine tank. Keep the fish in there for 2 or so weeks to try to make sure they aren't sick/or have ich. Also reduce stress. I believe TerryB has a series on here about Stress. I haven't read it but I assume it will tell you all about how to reduce and or eliminate it.

triggerfool

1. I have one on a fish only and i find it benificial, but i have triggers and they sure are messy eaters.
2. Every 7-8th time i feed my fish i soak their food in garlic extract. I know, it'll sound crazy to some, but it work like a charm. I used everything when i got a fish from my lfs that had ick (i was a newbie), but nothing worked till i came across a post on these very boards about people experimenting with the garlic. And that little fish turned out to be the monkey from OUTBREAK, and i had lotsa fish to cure. It worked stupendously, so ive given them some occasionally to keep the ick away. It doesnt seem to have any effect on the fish. I personally eat a lot of garlic and i only came down with ick once. I think it was a spiny puffer i invited over fpr dinner that gave it to me. Hes a shady fella.
Damn im verbose...sorry.

jakob4001

actually some people add garlic in one form or another; they even make marine product for it;usually pricey & can be substituted from store bought

S

sinner's girl

1. we have a fowlr and no skimmer. we do not find it necessary, though if it's beneficial you'll have to ask those who have them.