any advice would be great

wickj

i am very new to the hobby i started a 55 gal salt water tank 8 days ago
i have a empeor 400 boiwheel filter
prizm skimmer
standard lights that came with tank
and a heater
the only knowledge i have is from the fish dealer and a book i got
after i mixed the watter and got it up to temp i added 40lb dry sand and 40lbs live sand three days later after water cleared i got 5 fish 2 clowns 2 damsels and 1 yellow tang
its been a few days now the fish seem to be doing fine i test the water every evening but im only showing a small amount of ammonia and maybe a little nitrite i know it hasent fully cycled yet but even the ammonia is still very low
do you think everything is going ok and any advice would be appreactied

airforceb2

Welcome to the boards!!
You sadly fell victom to the wrath of local fish stores
You will most likely loose the tang and clowns. The damsels may or may not make it. If the cycle doesn't kill the tang, the size of the tank will. Tangs love to swim and a 55 just isn't big enough for them. Also, the damsels will pester the other fish to death if not controlled early.
Can you post your water parameters? Low to you may actually be good.

speg

Well if nothing is dying... Really you should have a reading of zero ammonia and zero nitrites... did you add all those fish closely together? You may be showing some sings of ammonia now due to adding them so quickly together... your biological filter hasnt caught up with the new comers.. you must be running carbon in that filter though.. is probably the only thing saving your

[hr]
right now =c(
My advice is to add fish slower in the future.. and with a 55 gallon tank I wouldnt add too many more fish to it. maybe another 3-4 smallish ones or so. Also I would advise you to be careful when adding new fish with the damsels.. as they will almost surely beat the snot outta new arrivals. I would also strongly advise that you enjoy this hobby ! enjoy@once!

speg