anyone know what this is on my fish?

philgmiami

ive used chem-marin for 5 days now, theres no changes :notsure: .. i did a freshwater dip early this morning.. ever since then hes hiding behind the rock resting his belly in the sand.. i can berly see him through my rock work.. hes been back there most of the day?.. i do see his lil mouth still moving so hes still alive... can anyone please help me?
ps i checked my water and its perfect :thinking:

monalisa

I'm not a professional by any means, but isn't that ich?
Best of luck with that.
Lisa :happyfish

saltyguy

Was the Chem-Marine a copper based product? You need to get the fish out of your main tank and treat him in a QT. You never want to use copper in your display tank, it will absorb in you live rock and it's almost impossible to get rid of. It will also kill any inverts in the tank.

ophiura

That is a serious case and the fish needs to be removed to a QT tank immediately for a proven treatment (eg hyposalinity or copper).
https://www.saltwaterfish.com/vb/showthread.php?t=127010
Chem Marin is not a guaranteed treatment and doesn't seem to have done much. Freshwater dips can seriously stress out already stressed out fish. At the very least start soaking foods in garlic. There is another sticky on top of the disease forum and Beth has posted several things on treating Ick (there is also something by TerryB in the Archives).
What is the stress in the tank? Young tank? Was the fish in QT for any period? What are you feeding it? Have you checked for stray voltage? Positive that your alkalinity, pH is all stable?

jedi

:scared:
wow that is a pretty serious case of Ich. If he has not succumbed by the time you get this reply, I would be willing to bet that he will very soon.
Very sorry to see a Naso go out like that.
I think you should focus on how to rid the tank, and protect the rest of the fish at this point.